Museum Associates Board


The Florida Museum Associates provide support for the Florida Museum of Natural History by expanding community awareness of the Museum's educational programs and cultural events, and by participating in fundraising efforts.




  • Support the Museum's goals and advancement of natural history.
  • Provide financial support for exhibits, research, and collections through membership dues, fundraising activities, and private gifts.

 Three Board members


  • Support the Museum's efforts to raise awareness of natural history, linking science and public programs.
  • Promote educational opportunities for visitors of all ages.


  • Act as ambassadors and advocates for the Museum.
  • Assist and participate in Museum cultural and fundraising events.

Two Board members

Members 2014-2015

Wanda Denny - President
Steve Shepherd - Vice President
Brian Watson - Treasurer
Peggy Henderson - Secretary
Jim Brandenburg
Ginny Cauthen
Marion Colburn
Christine Engels
Stan Given
Carletta Herring
Gwen Howard
Roslyn Levy
Barbie Newmans
Annette Perry
Susan Robell
Richard Sadove
Anne Shermyen
Ilene Silverman
Joseph Strella
Betsy Styron
Maureen Tartaglione
Audrae Tisher
Lisa Wasshausen
Anne West-Valle
Jo Wiggins


Members Emeriti

Board member working Pepsi booth at ButterflyFestEmeritus members are past members of the board who have demonstrated exemplary service to the board and to the Museum. They serve in an advisory ex-officio capacity. The Museum is privileged to have their support and continuing service.

Jacki Challoner
Barbara Emmer
Mary Ellen Funderburk
Libby Furlow
Sam Goforth
BJ Hodge
Peggy Kirkpatrick
Leslie Klein
Carrie Lee
Bronia Lowenstein
Ken McGurn
William (Bill) Olinger
Nancy Perry
Graig Shaak
Victor Yellen