Lab Principal Investigators


Pam Soltis, Distinguished Professor and Curator
Pam Soltis Polyploidy and plant phylogenetics
  • Phone: 352-273-1964
  • E-mail: psoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu


Doug Soltis, Distinguished Professor
Doug Soltis Systematics
  • Phone: 352-273-1963
  • E-mail: dsoltis@ufl.edu



Lab Managers


Matt Gitzendanner, Associate Scientist
Matt Gitzendanner Population and conservation genetics, genomics, bioinformatics
  • Phone: 352-273-1960
  • E-mail: magitz@ufl.edu


Evgeny Mavrodiev, Senior Biological Scientist
Evgeny Mavrodiev
  • Phone: 352-273-1961
  • E-mail: evgeny@ufl.edu



Post-Doctoral Associates


Andre Chanderbali
Andre Chanderbali
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: achander@ufl.edu


Mike Chester
Genomics, chromosome evolution, repetitive DNA evolution and DNA recombination using tools such as fluorescence in situ hybridization, high-thoughput sequencing and bioinformatics.
  • Phone: 352-392-7924
  • E-mail: mchester@ufl.edu


Bryan Drew
Bryan Drew Green plant character evolution; phylogenetics, biogeography, and evolution of the mint family
  • Phone:
  • E-mail: bdrew@ufl.edu


Charlotte Germain-Aubrey
Charlotte Germain-Aubrey Biodiversity bioinformatics; Large scale niche modeling; Species and phylogenetic diversity of Florida; Biogeography and populations genetics of endemics in southeastern U.S.
  • Phone: 352-792-2379
  • E-mail: cgermain@ufl.edu


Solon Pissis
Solon Pissis Algorithms on strings, Bioinformatics, Combinatorics on words
  • Phone: +49 6221 533292
  • E-mail: solon.pissis@h-its.org
  • Web Page





Graduate Students


Nicolas Garcia
Nicolas Garcia
  • Phone: 352-273-1962
  • E-mail: nicogarcia@ufl.edu


Grant Godden
Grant Godden
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: g0ddengr@ufl.edu


Mike Heaney
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: jheaney@ufl.edu


Richie Hodel
Richie Hodel Phylogeography and population genetics of red, black and white mangroves
  • Phone: 919-943-8076
  • E-mail: hodel@ufl.edu
  • Web Page


Heather Rose Kates
Heather Rose Kates Phylogeny, Phylogeography and Population Genetics of Cucurbita
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: hkates@ufl.edu


Jacob Landis
Jacob Landis
  • Phone: 352-273-1961
  • E-mail: jblandis@ufl.edu


Maribeth Latvis
Maribeth Latvis
  • Phone: 352-273-1962
  • E-mail: mlatvis@ufl.edu
  • Web Page


Xiaoxian Liu
Xiaoxian Liu
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: xiaoxianliu@ufl.edu


Nic Miles
Nic Miles Evo-Devo, Carnivorous Plants
  • Phone: 352-273-1962
  • E-mail: nicmiles@ufl.edu
  • Web Page


Iwan Molgo
Iwan Molgo
  • Phone: 352-273-1992
  • E-mail: imolgo@ufl.edu


Ryan Moraski
Iwan Molgo Systematics and evolution of Bromeliaceae, Biogeography, Phylogenomics
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: ryanmoraski@ufl.edu


Claudia Segovia-Salcedo
Claudia Segovia
  • Phone: 352-273-1962
  • E-mail: claudia@ufl.edu


Greg Stull
Greg Stull Phylogeny, fossil record, and biogeographic history of Icacinaceae; basal lamiid phylogeny; plastid phylogenomics.
  • Phone: 352-273-1934
  • E-mail: gwstull@ufl.edu


Clayton Visger
Clayton Visger
  • Phone: 352-273-1976
  • E-mail: clayton.visger@ufl.edu



Visiting Scientists




Shichao Chen, Associate professor, Visiting scientist from Tongji University, China
Shichao Chen Phylogeny on Angiosperm, Phylogeography and Population Genetics of Platycarya.
  • Phone: 352-222-2333
  • E-mail: scchen@tongji.edu.cn
  • Web



Recent Lab Members


This list is by no means comprehensive. Mostly it's fairly recent alum and those who've contacted Matt Gitzendanner and asked to be added. Want to be added to the list, or update your information? Contact Matt Gitzendanner.



Ingrid Jordon-Thaden
Ingrid Jordon-Thaden Evolution of polyploidy and apomixis; phylogeny and phylogeography of polyploids; Tragopogon-Asteraceae and Draba-Brassicaceae
  • Courtesy Research Associate
    University of California Berkeley
    University & Jepson Herbaria
    1001 Valley Life Science Bldg.
    Berkeley, CA 94720-2465
  • Phone: 510-552-3512
  • Fax: 510-643-5390
  • E-mail: ijordonthaden@berkeley.edu


Lucas Majure
Lucas Majure
  • Post-Doc with Walter Judd
  • Phone:
  • E-mail: lmajure@ufl.edu


Adam Payton
  • Lab Tech with Stuart McDaniel
  • Phone:
  • E-mail: acpayton@ufl.edu
Brad Ruhfel
ruhfel
  • Assistant Professor, Dept. Biological Sciences, Eastern Kentucky University
  • E-mail: Brad.Ruhfel@eku.edu
  • Web page


Xinshuai Qi, Visiting Ph.D student from Zhejiang University, China
Xinshuai Qi Phylogeography of East Asia; Gene family evolution.
  • E-mail: qxs718@126.com